Staging preview: health content pending qualified review

SS-31 20 mg

Also searched as: ss 31, ss31, elamipretide

Sold as SS-31 20MG

$85 In stock

Strength
Ships from

For research use only. Not for human or veterinary use.

Ships from the USA or Canada. Shipping details

SS-31 (elamipretide) is a synthetic tetrapeptide, a chain of four amino acids, that targets the inner membrane of mitochondria, the energy-producing parts of cells.12 The FDA label calls elamipretide a mitochondrial cardiolipin binder.3 Each vial holds 20 mg of SS-31 as a white freeze-dried solid, sold for laboratory research only. It is not Forzinity, the FDA-approved elamipretide injection.4

Specifications

SequenceD-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, where Dmt is 2,6-dimethyltyrosine and arginine is the D form35
ClassSynthetic aromatic-cationic tetrapeptide; mitochondrial cardiolipin binder13
Molecular formulaC32H49N9O5 (free base)6
Molar mass639.8 g/mol (free base)6
CAS number736992-21-57
PubChem CID117647196
FormWhite freeze-dried (lyophilized) solid; salt form and purity not specified
Vial contents20 mg of SS-31 (elamipretide) per vial
Strength20 mg
Ships fromUSA, Canada
StorageNo regulator label or peer-reviewed study covers storage of research-grade SS-31 powder; general peptide-maker guidance is to keep freeze-dried powder tightly closed at -20 °C or colder, away from bright light.2122 SS-31 contains arginine and lysine,3 which GenScript lists among residues that draw moisture from the air, and it advises keeping such peptides in a desiccator in a tightly capped vial.22

Bulk and wholesale orders

Labs that need several SS-31 vials for one study can apply for a wholesale account; terms are confirmed on application.

Questions about SS-31

About SS-31

SS-31 is the research name for elamipretide, a peptide of four amino acids, one of them a modified tyrosine (2,6-dimethyltyrosine).53 In lab studies it crosses cell membranes, gathers in mitochondria and binds cardiolipin, a lipid of the inner mitochondrial membrane that is needed to form the cristae, the folds where ATP is made.1112 In the literature it is also called MTP-131 or Bendavia.1

SS-31 for sale here is supplied in 20 mg vials for laboratory research, and the SS-31 price shown is per vial. Its background and trial results are on What is SS-31?.

Research highlights

  • Cardiolipin binding (lab and rat studies): SS-31 bound cardiolipin with high affinity, and the SS-31/cardiolipin complex blocked the peroxidase activity of cytochrome c, which oxidizes cardiolipin and damages mitochondria during ischemia.12 In rats, pretreatment protected mitochondrial cristae during kidney ischemia.12
  • Mitochondrial uptake (cell and isolated-mitochondria studies): SS peptides concentrate about 1,000-fold in the inner mitochondrial membrane, and their uptake into isolated mitochondria did not depend on membrane potential.111
  • Aged muscle (mice): in 27-month-old mice, muscle mitochondrial energy production was back to young levels one hour after a single injection.13 Young muscle showed no effect.13
  • Barth syndrome (trial in 12 males): elamipretide did not beat placebo on walking distance or fatigue in a randomized crossover with 12-week treatment periods.3 Knee strength rose later, in the open-label extension, and FDA based its accelerated approval on that gain.3
  • Mitochondrial myopathy (phase 3, 218 participants): 24 weeks of daily injections did not improve 6-minute walk distance or fatigue compared with placebo.14
  • Heart failure (phase 2, 71 patients): 28 days of daily injections did not improve left ventricular end-systolic volume compared with placebo.15
  • Dry macular degeneration (phase 2, 176 adults): 48 weeks of treatment missed both primary endpoints.16 A predefined imaging end point showed 43% slower loss of the photoreceptor ellipsoid zone (nominal P = 0.0034).16
  • Mitochondria-targeted antioxidants, elamipretide included (systematic review, 19 trials, 884 people): no significant effect on blood sugar, cardiovascular or oxidative stress outcomes, except a gain in one artery-function measure whose evidence was rated very low certainty.17

Regulatory status

FDA granted Forzinity (elamipretide) injection accelerated approval on September 19, 2025, as the first Barth syndrome treatment, for patients weighing at least 30 kg.24 Continued approval may depend on a confirmatory trial that verifies clinical benefit.32 Research-grade SS-31, including this vial, falls outside that approval.4

Anyone planning to buy SS-31 online should know FDA's position. Warning letters dated August 24, 2026 told four online sellers that their SS-31 products were unapproved new drugs.10181920 Each letter said that despite "research use only" labeling, evidence from the seller's website showed the products were intended as drugs for human use.10181920

Handling and storage

No regulator label or peer-reviewed study gives mixing steps for research-grade SS-31 powder. Peptides tend to absorb water from the air, so Bachem advises letting a cold container reach room temperature in a desiccator before opening it.21 One published fact about the molecule helps at the bench: elamipretide hydrochloride, the salt used in Forzinity, is freely soluble in water.3 The salt in this vial is not specified, so its solubility is unconfirmed. The reconstitution guide covers diluent choice, sterile technique and concentration math. The reconstitution calculator does the arithmetic, and the peptide storage guide covers storage of freeze-dried and mixed peptides.

Frequently asked questions

How much does elamipretide cost?

Research-grade SS-31 (elamipretide) is listed here in 20 mg at $85 per vial, and the price shown beside the strength selector is the current one. That price is for a research chemical, not a medicine. Forzinity, the FDA-approved elamipretide injection, is a separate prescription drug,4 and D2C Peptides does not sell it.

Where can I get SS-31 peptide?

This page offers SS-31 for laboratory research only; it is not for use in people. For patients, the one approved form is Forzinity, a prescription injection for Barth syndrome in people who weigh at least 30 kg.3 Doctors can also request elamipretide for some patients with rare mitochondrial diseases through the maker's expanded access program, which reviews each request.8

What comes in the SS-31 vial?

Each vial holds 20 mg of SS-31 (elamipretide) as a white freeze-dried solid. The supplier's listing does not state the salt form or purity. Elamipretide has been made as different salts: clinical trials used an acetate salt, and Forzinity uses the hydrochloride.9 Salt form matters for lab math: in the Forzinity label, 40 mg of elamipretide equals 46.8 mg of the hydrochloride salt.3 Lab documents are listed by product and lot number on the lab results page as they become available. Delivery details are on the shipping page.

Is the SS-31 sold here the same as Forzinity?

No. The vial sold here is labeled as the same molecule, elamipretide, but it is a different product. Forzinity, approved by FDA under NDA 215244, is a ready-to-use injection of elamipretide hydrochloride at 80 mg/mL, with benzyl alcohol as a preservative.43 The SS-31 vial sold here is a freeze-dried research chemical outside that approval. In August 2026 warning letters, FDA called SS-31 sold by four online sellers an unapproved new drug despite "research use only" labels, because the sellers' websites showed it was meant for people.10181920

Written by D2C Peptides Editorial Team.

Pending qualified review.

Updated .

Sources

  1. First-in-class cardiolipin-protective compound as a therapeutic agent to restore mitochondrial bioenergetics (Szeto-Schiller peptides, cardiolipin binding). British Journal of Pharmacology (PMC full text, PMC3976620), 2014.
  2. FDA Grants Accelerated Approval to First Treatment for Barth Syndrome. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2025.
  3. FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection prescribing information: Indications and Usage. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine (label by Stealth BioTherapeutics Inc., revised 9/2025), 2025.
  4. Drugs@FDA: NDA 215244, FORZINITY (elamipretide hydrochloride). U.S. Food and Drug Administration (Drugs@FDA), 2025.
  5. Elamipretide: depositor-supplied synonyms (PubChem CID 11764719). PubChem, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NIH/NLM), 2026.
  6. Elamipretide: computed properties (PubChem CID 11764719). PubChem, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NIH/NLM), 2026.
  7. Elamipretide: CAS registry number (PubChem CID 11764719, PUG View). PubChem, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NIH/NLM), 2026.
  8. An Intermediate Size Expanded Access Protocol of Elamipretide (NCT04689360). ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 2026.
  9. FDA Briefing Document, NDA 215244 elamipretide hydrochloride injection, Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs Advisory Committee (pharmacokinetics). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2024.
  10. Warning Letter 735067: TXP Innovations LLC dba Tex Peptides (August 24, 2026). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, CDER, 2026.
  11. Cell-permeable peptide antioxidants targeted to inner mitochondrial membrane inhibit mitochondrial swelling, oxidative cell death, and reperfusion injury. Journal of Biological Chemistry (PubMed abstract, PMID 15178689), 2004.
  12. The mitochondrial-targeted compound SS-31 re-energizes ischemic mitochondria by interacting with cardiolipin. Journal of the American Society of Nephrology (PubMed abstract, PMID 23813215), 2013.
  13. Mitochondrial-targeted peptide rapidly improves mitochondrial energetics and skeletal muscle performance in aged mice (dose and energetics). Aging Cell (PubMed abstract, PMID 23692570), 2013.
  14. Efficacy and Safety of Elamipretide in Individuals With Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy: The MMPOWER-3 Randomized Clinical Trial (enrollment and outcome). Neurology (PubMed abstract, PMID 37268435), 2023.
  15. Effects of Elamipretide on Left Ventricular Function in Patients With Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection Fraction: The PROGRESS-HF Phase 2 Trial (design). Journal of Cardiac Failure (PubMed abstract, PMID 32068002), 2020.
  16. ReCLAIM-2: A Randomized Phase II Clinical Trial Evaluating Elamipretide in Age-related Macular Degeneration (methods). Ophthalmology Science (PubMed abstract, PMID 39605874), 2024.
  17. Effect of mitochondrial-targeted antioxidants on glycaemic control, cardiovascular health, and oxidative stress in humans: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials (results). Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism (PubMed abstract, PMID 35165982), 2022.
  18. Warning Letter 734884: Royal Peptides LLC (August 24, 2026). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, CDER, 2026.
  19. Warning Letter 735127: Peak Performance Peptides (August 24, 2026). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, CDER, 2026.
  20. Warning Letter 735063: Peptide Partners LLC (August 24, 2026). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, CDER, 2026.
  21. Handling and Storage Guidelines for Peptides (Peptide Guide, chapter 8). Bachem.
  22. Peptide Storage and Handling Guidelines. GenScript.