
GHRP-6
$30
In stock
View productProfile
GHRP-6 is a six-amino-acid peptide, described in 1984, that triggers growth hormone release through the ghrelin receptor, a receptor not identified until 1996.89 Small, short human studies show it reliably raises growth hormone, but it has no FDA label, no approval as a medicine was found anywhere, and WADA bans it.111236246
This page summarizes published sources for information only. It is not medical advice and does not tell anyone to use a product. Questions about your own health belong with a licensed clinician. For questions about an order or a product, contact us.
| Class | Synthetic hexapeptide; growth hormone-releasing peptide (GHRP) that activates the ghrelin receptor (GHS-R1a) and also binds CD36824 |
|---|---|
| Also known as | Growth hormone-releasing peptide-6, GH-releasing hexapeptide 6, SK&F 110679, U-75799E2 |
| Forms we sell | 5 mg research vial |
| Regulatory status | Not FDA-approved and no DailyMed label; FDA category 2 for outsourcing facilities and category 3 for pharmacy compounding36439 |
| WADA status | Prohibited at all times (class S2.2.4, GH-releasing peptides)6 |
A 1984 report described GHRP-6, His-D-Trp-Ala-Trp-D-Phe-Lys-NH2, as a new synthetic hexapeptide that released growth hormone in a dose-related way from pituitary tissue and in rats, monkeys, lambs and calves, without releasing LH, FSH, TSH or prolactin.8 In rats it worked by vein, under the skin or into the abdomen.8 Its receptor, a G protein-coupled receptor in the pituitary and hypothalamus, was cloned in 1996, and ghrelin, a 28-amino-acid stomach peptide, was identified as that receptor's natural ligand in 1999.910 GHRP-6 also binds a second receptor, CD36, which cell and animal studies tie to survival pathways such as PI-3K/AKT1.24
Two human findings shape how it works. Most of its growth hormone effect depends on the body's own GHRH: in 9 healthy men aged 20 to 30, a GHRH blocker cut the peak rise after GHRP-6 from 33.8 to 6.2 µg/L.17 It also works with GHRH, since low IV doses given together with GHRH released growth hormone synergistically in 18 men.12 Separately, it increased eating in rats when injected into the brain, an effect the authors suggested is independent of its growth hormone action.30
A 2026 review places GHRP-6 in an intermediate evidence tier: phase I and small mechanistic human studies of acute hormone responses, no controlled efficacy trials and no long-term safety data.27 The same review says direct evidence for body composition changes in people remains limited, and that heart-protection findings lack confirmation from human clinical trials.27 Most adult studies enrolled only men, in groups of 5 to 18.111213151722 The compound itself is listed as GHRP-6 for sale in a 5 mg research vial.
Human safety data come from small, short studies, mostly single doses or infusions in healthy men, and no long-term safety data exist.27111215
No human dose of GHRP-6 is established for any use: it has no FDA-approved label, no registered clinical trial and no controlled efficacy trial.363427 The table lists what published studies gave. These were single or short research exposures, mostly by vein under study supervision, and they are not guidance for people.
| Study | Who | Route | What was given |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diagnostic test, 200019 | 125 adults with pituitary disease, 125 healthy adults | IV | GHRP-6 1 µg/kg plus GHRH 1 µg/kg, once |
| Bowers 199012 | 18 healthy men | IV bolus | 0.1, 0.3 and 1 µg/kg, single doses; the lower doses also with GHRH 1 µg/kg |
| Ilson 198911 | 17 healthy men | IV infusion over 30 minutes | 0.05 to 2.5 µg/kg, single sessions |
| Cordido 199314 | 19 obese subjects | IV | 100 µg, alone or with GHRH 100 µg |
| Jaffe 199315 | 9 healthy young men | IV | 1 µg/kg loading dose, then 1 µg/kg per hour for 34 hours |
| Cabrales 201322 | 9 healthy men | IV bolus | 100, 200 and 400 µg/kg, single doses |
| Bowers 199213 | 5 healthy men, plus 9 children | By mouth | 100 and 300 µg/kg in the men and 300 µg/kg in the children, single doses |
| Frieboes 199516 | Healthy men | IV bolus | Four doses of 50 µg over one night |
| Berlanga 200721 | Female pigs | Not stated in the abstract | 400 µg/kg in a 1-hour coronary blockage model; timing not stated in the abstract |
| Svensson 200042 | Adult female rats (8 on GHRP-6) | Under the skin, by pump | 0.5 mg/kg per day for 12 weeks |
| Locke 199530 | Male rats | Into the brain ventricles | 0 to 1,000 pmol, single doses |
There are no regulator-reviewed instructions for mixing or storing GHRP-6, because it has no FDA-approved label; DailyMed returns none.36 No independent stability data for GHRP-6 vials were found.
Two identity points matter for lab records. PubChem lists GHRP-6 under two CAS numbers, 87616-84-0 and 145177-42-0 (labeled free base), and lists an acetate salt among its synonyms, so a powder's salt form is worth confirming on its certificate.2 PubChem's second record, CID 4345065, has the same formula but no defined stereochemistry; CID 9919153 is the record with the D-amino acids defined.13 For general lab practice, read How to reconstitute a peptide vial and How to store peptides; the reconstitution calculator converts powder mass and diluent volume into a concentration.

$30
In stock
View productGHRP-6 for sale: strengths, stock and shipping are on the product page.
For research use only. Not for human or veterinary use. Read the research use policy.
Sources describe it as appetite-stimulating, though the controlled human data come from a related peptide. A 2026 review calls a consistent appetite-stimulating response characteristic of GHRP-6, and injected into the brain of rats it increased eating in a dose-related way.2730 No controlled human food-intake study of GHRP-6 itself was found; the related GHRP-2 made 7 healthy men eat about 36% more than saline did.20
Ipamorelin. In conscious pigs, GHRP-6 raised ACTH and cortisol along with growth hormone, while ipamorelin released growth hormone with a selectivity similar to GHRH; the study authors called it the first selective growth hormone secretagogue.18 In rat pituitary cells, the two released growth hormone with similar potency and efficacy.18 More: What is Ipamorelin?
One placebo-controlled study in healthy men found that four IV doses of 50 µg during the night lengthened stage 2 sleep (270 vs 245 minutes) but did not change deep, slow-wave sleep.16 The same doses raised night-time growth hormone, ACTH and cortisol.16 GHRP-6 has not been tested as a sleep treatment in a controlled efficacy trial.27
No. HGH products are growth hormone itself, and their use is governed by strict FDA criteria.26 GHRP-6 contains no growth hormone: it acts on the pituitary to release the body's own supply, and most of that effect depends on the body's own GHRH.817 For the hormone itself, see What is HGH?
It raised growth hormone when swallowed, but weakly.13 In a 1992 study, 5 healthy men given oral doses of 100 and 300 µg/kg had growth hormone peaks 63 and 202 times above baseline, yet oral activity was only about 0.3% of the IV form.13 Nine short children with varying growth hormone deficiency were also tested.13 These were research doses, not guidance.
In 9 healthy men given single IV doses, GHRP-6 had a distribution half-life of about 7.6 minutes and an elimination half-life of about 2.5 hours.22 Four of the 9 showed unexplained concentration spikes during elimination.22 After a single nasal dose in one volunteer, unchanged GHRP-6 was still detectable in urine 23 hours later.23
Written by D2C Peptides Editorial Team.
Pending qualified review.
Updated .
D2C Peptides sells peptides for laboratory research. Please confirm both statements to continue.